The Victor

CAP Faculty, Students and Advisory Board Members Recognized at AIA Colorado 2021 Design Awards

September 18, 2021

On September 14, AIA Colorado honored Colorado architects with its annual design awards through a virtual celebration. The prestigious award program honors the most outstanding work of Colorado architects and the enduring value of great design. 

Throughout the course of the evening, CAP faculty, student, and Advisory Board members were awarded for the significant role that their projects, initiatives and leadership have played, not only in advancing the design culture of Colorado, but also in raising awareness of the outstanding work of the CAP community.

The CAP is excited to extend its congratulations to the following faculty, students, and Advisory Board Members:

Faculty/Staff Members: Steve Turner, Rick Sommerfeld, Will Koning, Katherine Hartung, Chris Shears, Stephen Dynia, and David Pfiefer 

CAP Advisory Board Members: David Tryba (CAP ‘80) (Tryba Associates) and Joey Carasquillo (AMD)

CAP ColoradoBuildingWorkshop Students: ​​Minttu Aaltonen, Kyle Brunner, Randy Chu, Olivia Collier, Ryan Couto, Jake Cusick, Kai Eldredge, Johnny English, Adrienne Gullia, Henry Kelly, Eric Kuhn, Samuel, Lara Palacios, Jacqueline Lund, Matthew Milne, Lea Moguet, Graham Oden, Stephanie Protsman, Cecilia Richey, Daniel Spieler, Jesse Terzic, Justin Trammell, Christopher Tryba, Grant Warmerdam Elizabeth Whitacre and David Wirth 

and Senator Chris Hansen!

The CAP is excited to extend its congratulations to the following faculty, students, and Advisory Board

Celebrating CAP Faculty

The prestigious 2021 President’s Award allows the AIA Colorado Board President to recognize a community member in Colorado who has significantly contributed to architecture or the advancement of architecture in Colorado. The CAP is honored that Steve Turner, AIA, was recognized with the 2021 President’s Award.

Steve Turner is a Professor of Practice in CAP and Director of the Historic Preservation Program as well as the Classical Studies Program. He most recently served as History Colorado Executive Director and Colorado State Historic Preservation Officer. In that role, Steve and his team administered more than $91 million in preservation grants, and helped lead the effort to expand the state’s preservation tax credit, which has proven instrumental in preserving so many historic buildings and landscapes that tell the continuing story of our communities.

Thanks to Steve’s efforts, Colorado is leading the nation in preservation, and his stewardship over the course of a successful career has made a big difference. We are thrilled he has joined us at CAP.

Congratulations, Steve, and thank you!

Award of Merit: Auraria Bike Pavilions

Auraria Bike Pavilions during an early evening
The Auraria Bike Pavilions received an Award of Merit at the AIA Colorado Design Awards. Photo courtesy of Jesse Kuroiwa
Congratulations to CAP’s ColoradoBuildingWorkshop for receiving an Award of Merit for the Auraria Bike Pavilions.

The Bike Pavilions were completed in 2020 and are meant to encourage commuters to consider non-motorized transportation and combat bike theft. The Auraria Sustainable Campus Program (ASCP) partnered with ColoradoBuildingWorkshop to construct two bike storage pavilions – each housing up to 50 bikes per structure, public access bike fix-it stations, and locking skateboard racks.

The project focuses on innovative sustainable design solutions and materials that integrate with surrounding structures and a visual transparency that aids in crime prevention through environmental design. The jury commented that “the simple imaginative pavilion thoughtfully stores bikes. The design is well done and clear.”

Please join us in congratulating all the students who participated in this ColoradoBuildingWorkshop and its outstanding leadership team: Rick Sommerfeld, Katherine Hartung and Will Koning!

People enjoying their meals at tables and employees working at Chook Charcoal Chicken
Chook Charcoal Chicken received an Honorable Mention at the AIA Colorado Design Awards. Photo courtesy of Jess Blackwell
Award of Merit: The Victor  by Dynia Architects
3-story building on-top of garage lot
The Victor by Dynia Architects received an Award of Merit at the AIA Colorado Design Awards. Photo courtesy of Parrish Ruiz de Velasco

Stephen Dynia, FAIA, and Instructor in CAP, was recognized for his firm’s outstanding work on The Victor near City Park in Denver. The Victor is a 26-unit condominium and retail building conceptualized as an abstract volume floating above a monolithic plinth. 
The jury recognized this project as “a simple idea rigorously executed and designed as a timeless building that integrates into the community.”

Congratulations to Stephen Dynia!

US Olympic and Paralympic Museum on a cloudy day
US Olympic and Paralympic Museum received an Award of Excellence at the AIA Colorado Design Awards. Photo courtesy of Jason O’Rear and Nic Lehoux

Anderson Mason Dale Architects (AMD) received an Award of Excellence for the US Olympic and Paralympic Museum in partnership with Diller Scofidio & Renfro. The firm also received an Honorable Mention for the J. Robert Young Alpine Ascent Center. Joey Carrasquillo, Principal at AMD, is a CAP Advisory Board Member, and David Pfeifer, President of AMD has served on the CAP Faculty.

Female employee working at desk. On the employee's right side, there is a spacious area with chairs and windows which show a view of the mountains. On the employee's left side, another employee is walking down the hallway.
Boston Consulting Group (BCG) located in Denver received an Honorable Mention at the AIA Colorado Design Awards. Photo courtesy of Jeremy Bittermann

David Tryba, FAIA, is a CAP Alumnus and a member of the CAP Advisory Board. Tryba Associates was the recipient of 3 awards including: Mercantile Square (the 25-Year Award); Boston Consulting Group located in Denver, CO (Honorable Mention); and Aimco Headquarters, located in Denver, CO (Award of Merit).

Congratulations to AMD and Tryba Associates!

Lastly, we would like to recognize and congratulate Senator Chris Hansen who received the 2020 Legislator of the Year Award. Chris is Co-founder of the Colorado Energy and Water Institute, holds a PhD from Oxford, a Masters from MIT, teaches at CU Denver’s College of Business and also serves on their Advisory Board.

We are so very proud of all our AIA Colorado Award recipients for enriching places for people and the planet through demonstrating the power of good design.

For more information, please visit AIA Colorado’s website here and Modern in Denver.