Four students walking together near trees

Focusing on suicide prevention and awareness

Counseling Center receives three-year grant to support students

February 20, 2019

Students who might be considering suicide will soon have even more support on campus.

The Student and Community Counseling Center, in collaboration with the Dean of Students Office, was awarded the Garret Lee Smith Campus Suicide Prevention grant from the Department of Health and Human Services Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).

The center received notification in November 2018 that it had received the SAMHSA award in the amount of $102,000 per year until Nov. 29, 2021.

[cucalloutbox align=”full” color=”” class=”” size=””]

What the Counseling Center can do with the suicide prevention grant:

  • Develop a comprehensive, collaborative, well-coordinated and evidenced-based approach to enhance services for all college students, including those at risk for suicide, depression, serious mental illness and/or substance use disorders that can lead to school failure
  • Prevent mental and substance-use disorders
  • Promote help-seeking behavior and reduce stigma
  • Improve the identification and treatment of at-risk college students so they can successfully complete their studies


The suicide prevention grant funds:

  • Staff time dedicated to prevention efforts and data collection
  • Travel and professional development related to prevention
  • Online wellness screenings for all students
  • Funding for other prevention-related efforts

CU Denver is in a grant cohort with the following institutions, which also received awards: St. John’s University, State University of New York at Albany, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of South Carolina Columbia, University of Wyoming, East Carolina University, North Caroline Agricultural and Technical State University, Pfeiffer University, Pomona College, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of North Texas Dallas, Weber State University, Columbus State Community College, Community College of Aurora, Milwaukee Area Technical College, Texas Christian University, University of Oregon and Valencia College.