Preservation and collaboration are themes of History Awards

Denver preservationists David Tryba, Dana Crawford present student awards at D&F Clock Tower

May 3, 2017

Several of Denver’s best-known preservationists joined the CU Denver History Department for its annual student awards ceremony. Fittingly, the recent event took place at a historical landmark – the Daniels and Fisher Clock Tower building on the 16th Street Mall.

CU Denver History Department award dignitaries
Pictured from left are David Tryba, Stephanie Tryba, History Department Chair Kariann Akemi Yokota, Holly Kylberg, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean Pamela Jansma, and history Professor Tom Noel.

David Tryba, a CU Denver graduate in architecture and noted Denver architect and preservationist, and his wife, Stephanie, joined the ceremony along with renowned LoDo and Larimer Square preservationist Dana Crawford. Other dignitaries on hand included longtime CU Denver History Department supporters Tom and Judy Ward; CU Denver Chancellor Dorothy Horrell, PhD; Pamela Jansma, PhD, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; History Department Chair Kariann Akemi Yokota, PhD; and Holly Kylberg, who owns the top five floors of the D&F Tower and gave a tour of the space to the ceremony attendees.

CU Denver student Lindsey Flewelling
Denver architect David Tryba and his wife, Stephanie, present the Tryba Prize for Historic Preservation to student Lindsey Flewelling, far right.

Presiding over the ceremony, which took place in The Clocktower Cabaret, was Tom Noel, PhD, professor of history and director of Public History & Preservation.

CU Denver student Rose Campbell
Tom Ward, longtime History Department supporter, presents the Ward Prize for Public History to student Rose Campbell.

Chancellor Horrell thanked everyone for attending and noted that CU Denver is an educational, research and community-service treasure. “At the heart of our institution is our committed, dedicated and talented faculty and amazing students,” she said. “They come to us with their hopes and dreams in hand, and want us to be a part of helping those dreams come true.”

CU Denver student Marina Mecham
History student Marina Mecham, right, receives the Myra Rich Prize for Top Undergraduate Honors Paper from Associate Professor Chris Agee.

Yokota said the the annual awards ceremony acts as a crossroads event. “We’re bringing together members of the community, the university and classrooms – all in service of creating a wonderful experience for our students, many of whom we’ll honor tonight,” she said.

Student award winners were:

  • Rose Campbell, the $1,000 Ward Family Prize for Public History (presented by Tom and Judy Ward)
  • Lindsey Flewelling, the $1,000 Tryba Family Prize for Historic Preservation (presented by David and Stephanie Tryba)
  • Marina Mecham, the Myra Rich Prize for Top Undergraduate Honors Paper (presented by Associate Professor Chris Agee, PhD).
Dana Crawford at CU Denver History Awards
Denver preservationist Dana Crawford, far left, announces the Graduate Historic Preservation Certificate winners as Professor Tom Noel looks on.

Crawford, in presenting Graduate Historic Preservation Certificates to four students, echoed David Tryba’s remarks in saying, “This is an important time in preservation in Denver, and we have to watch our old buildings and our built environment very carefully.”

The certificate winners were: Greg Brill, Jade Martin, Glendon Butterfield and Kirby Page-Schmit.

CU Denver Chancellor Dorothy Horrell
CU Denver Chancellor Dorothy Horrell addresses the attendees at the History Department student awards ceremony.

On behalf of the History Department, Rebecca Hunt, PhD, associate professor, gave Amazon gift certificates to two exemplary students – Farron Straitz and Jennae Smith – who are coming to CU Denver from Community College of Aurora.

The department also recognized students involved with the Historical Studies Journal, which is published each year. The 2017 journal editor is Erica Fontenot, while next year’s editor is Brittany Huner.